The largest independent, non-commercial, consumer-oriented resource on the Internet for owners, collectors and enthusiasts of fine wristwatches. Online since 1998.
Informational Websites ChronoMaddox -- the legacy of Chuck Maddox OnTheDash -- vintage Heuer website Zowie -- Omega information
Discussion Forums ChronoMaddox Forum Heuer Forum Omega Forum
Counterfeit Watchers ChronoTools Forum ChronoTrader Forum
Vintage Heuer Discussion Forum
The place for discussing 1930-1985 Heuer wristwatches, chronographs and dash-mounted timepieces. Online since May 2003.
OnTheDash Home What's New! Price Guide Chronographs Dash Mounted Collection
Heuer 844/3 case, movement, crown, source book

I recently bought an 844/3 on eBay and have started the process of getting it in proper, reliable shape.
I'm dealing with a local vintage dealer, who has several of what I consider to be very experienced watchmakers on staff.
Although he used to deal in Heuers quite extensively, we're a bit stumped.
I am a novice, and greatly appreciate any help with the following questions.
Unfortunately, I don't have the facility to include photos, plus the watch is currently with the dealer.

In the various catalogs, the crown guards look to vary quite a bit from watch model to watch model, especially as regards the mid and small size cases.
But the 844/3 case appears to have been polished (even ground down) quite a bit around the crown.
Is this a usual practice, assuming a lot of wear in its earlier life?
Or did the 844/3 cases differ from say the typical 980.006?
I certainly understand and mourn the value lost when some hack carelessly tries to make the watch "look better".

The auto movement appears correct, except the "Heuer" on a cover plate looks to be rather crude.
I've seen photos of the same movement (ETA 2872 I believe) with the same crude marking.
Is this marking typical - seems rather unHeuerlike?
If real, I will proceed with an overhaul (not keeping good time).