The largest independent, non-commercial, consumer-oriented resource on the Internet for owners, collectors and enthusiasts of fine wristwatches. Online since 1998.
Informational Websites ChronoMaddox -- the legacy of Chuck Maddox OnTheDash -- vintage Heuer website Zowie -- Omega information
Discussion Forums ChronoMaddox Forum Heuer Forum Omega Forum
Counterfeit Watchers ChronoTools Forum ChronoTrader Forum
Vintage Heuer Discussion Forum
The place for discussing 1930-1985 Heuer wristwatches, chronographs and dash-mounted timepieces. Online since May 2003.
OnTheDash Home What's New! Price Guide Chronographs Dash Mounted Collection
Heuer Autavia Story (with Photo)

Hi,
I stumbled across this forum yesterday after I thought I'd 'Google' Heuer Autavia to see if I could find any information on a watch I have. I should say that whilst I appreciate the watch (for personal reasons) I'm no expert at all, and have just a passing interest in watches generally.

I thought the forum members here might be interested in my story though!

As a kid growing up in a family of motor racing enthusiasts I was brought up on the Grands Prix and Le Mans films and was probably the only child at school in the 80's familiar with the racing heros of the 60's and 70's. In amongst a box of toys I was sometimes allowed to play with (a box of my dads olds toys!) was a watch which I'd wear loosely around my wrist under strict instructions to be careful with it. It wasn't working and the glass was a little scratched and the strap was falling apart. It spent most of its life in this period wrapped in an old sock of mine and stashed away at the back of a drawer.