The largest independent, non-commercial, consumer-oriented resource on the Internet for owners, collectors and enthusiasts of fine wristwatches. Online since 1998.
Informational Websites ChronoMaddox -- the legacy of Chuck Maddox OnTheDash -- vintage Heuer website Zowie -- Omega information
Discussion Forums ChronoMaddox Forum Heuer Forum Omega Forum
Counterfeit Watchers ChronoTools Forum ChronoTrader Forum
Vintage Heuer Discussion Forum
The place for discussing 1930-1985 Heuer wristwatches, chronographs and dash-mounted timepieces. Online since May 2003.
OnTheDash Home What's New! Price Guide Chronographs Dash Mounted Collection
Re: Tag Heuer (non) Marketing
In Response To: Tag Heuer Marketing ()

All,

Great post Jim.

I've contacted TAG with my views on the rebranding of the "Classics" line, but got no response from them......thus revealing their website as useless as a point of communication.

As I'm employed as a marketing manager I'm in a pretty good position to have an opinion:

The new "TAG HEUER" parent branded Classics line falls short of capturing the great heritage of the Company's 1960's-80's chronographs, the actual chronos we all so avidly collect.

I told TAG I'd be a certain purchaser of the white dial Autavia reissue if it was Heuer branded, but I received no response from them. In fact a few years ago I was the first to make the connection of this particular 1960's watch and with Jo Siffert, a now ubiquitous association with this model of Heuer chrono. Interestingly, TAG themselves in their promotional material have credited Siffert with wearing a Monaco, and with influencing Steve McQueen, yet this is just not the case. He did influence Steve (he supplied many of the cars for the film "Le Mans" and drove in the film), but he always wore a white dial automatic Autavia.

If TAG themselves don't really know the true heritage of their models, I expect more of the same, sadly.