The largest independent, non-commercial, consumer-oriented resource on the Internet for owners, collectors and enthusiasts of fine wristwatches. Online since 1998.
Informational Websites ChronoMaddox -- the legacy of Chuck Maddox OnTheDash -- vintage Heuer website Zowie -- Omega information
Discussion Forums ChronoMaddox Forum Heuer Forum Omega Forum
Counterfeit Watchers ChronoTools Forum ChronoTrader Forum
Vintage Heuer Discussion Forum
The place for discussing 1930-1985 Heuer wristwatches, chronographs and dash-mounted timepieces. Online since May 2003.
OnTheDash Home What's New! Price Guide Chronographs Dash Mounted Collection
Some more info and how I found it...

Chuck,

Have you got anymore info I am new to this game and a keen learner so what does a French Heuer mean in practice... made in a differnent factory...not as good.

Well, I dunno... I don't really have any empirical or canonical data to say or even claim they are inferior, but I do believe that they were considered "Economy" models at the time of their production and they are certainly less sophisticated then their Micro-Rotor, Valjoux 7750 and Lemania 5100 stable-mates of the same era.

Certainly their status of being French made would proclude them from being assembled in the same Swiss factory that other Heuer's of the era, but I don't have any details specifically spelling out where in France these were manufactured or the reasons/thinking/marketing/etc. for Heuer doing this...

If you could elaborate it would be great.

Well, here is a brief walk down the path of learning...

If you visit the "Mother Ship" of OTD, you'll notice on the left hand side a link that states: Chronograph Master Reference Table:

Now if you look down about a screen and a half you'll see a bunch of Heuer model's listed... Click on the link "French_Made_Chronographs" and you'll get the following table:

French_Made_Chronographs