The largest independent, non-commercial, consumer-oriented resource on the Internet for owners, collectors and enthusiasts of fine wristwatches. Online since 1998.
Informational Websites ChronoMaddox -- the legacy of Chuck Maddox OnTheDash -- vintage Heuer website Zowie -- Omega information
Discussion Forums ChronoMaddox Forum Heuer Forum Omega Forum
Counterfeit Watchers ChronoTools Forum ChronoTrader Forum
Vintage Heuer Discussion Forum
The place for discussing 1930-1985 Heuer wristwatches, chronographs and dash-mounted timepieces. Online since May 2003.
OnTheDash Home What's New! Price Guide Chronographs Dash Mounted Collection
Is There an Elephant in the Room? Can We Do Better in 2013?

I am new to the International Vintage Heuer Owners Club Facebook group [located here -- http://www.facebook.com/groups/vintageheuer/], and do not have a good sense of the dynamics of this group . . . who are the good guys; who are the bad guys; what are the issues and bonds / purposes in the community. A few days ago, there were postings about some sort of problems in the group / community. It seems that these postings were triggered by the deletion of a link to a completed auction, in which an 18 Karat Gold Carrera (Ref 1158) had sold for what was viewed as a high price. Most of the Facebook postings in this chain are copied below.

It is difficult to understand and describe the dynamics of a community, when the community communicates primarily by Facebook messages, or even by longer discussion forum messages. It becomes more difficult when many of the participants are communicating in a language that is not their primary language. The final complicating factor is that participants post messages screaming that there is a problem, or that they are upset, or that the hobby of vintage watch collecting has been “poisoned”, but they will not state exactly what that problem might be.